My 2014 in Review: From FREE to FINISH

https://s3.amazonaws.com/cache.salvationarmy.org/2c91fea2-8a57-4dde-873b-e8341d0177e8_freedom222.jpg
https://s3.amazonaws.com/cache.salvationarmy.org/2c91fea2-8a57-4dde-873b-e8341d0177e8_freedom222.jpg
My One Word for 2014 was FREE. I allowed myself to be free to explore new professional opportunities. After much contemplation, I freed my mind to think about leaving a school and district I love to see if what I know about building leadership applies elsewhere. Coming to that decision was not only difficult, but it was the right decision. A man I have a great deal of respect for once said to me, “It is better to leave one year too early than one day too late.” In my mind and heart, I felt is was time to leave…

The hardest part was simply allowing myself the freedom to consider leaving because of the friendships established, what we accomplished together, my level of comfort, and fear of what I could potentially give up forever. Yet, I am okay and I’m being stretched as a leader in more ways than I could have imagined in the district I’m in now. By simply allowing myself to be FREE, I embrace the newness, the transition, and the lessons learned and yet to be learned. Additionally,

I allowed myself to be free to say, “Yes,” to many projects or possibilities.

I allowed myself to be free to not live up to what I perceived others expected of me.

I allowed myself to be free to put my immediate family first in many situations because it was the right thing to do and without the burden of trying to please others.

I allowed myself to be free to say, “No,” without guilt or shame.

I allowed myself to be proud of my personal and professional accomplishments I earned such as being named the 2014 Bammy Secondary Principal of the Year and being inducted in the Wittenberg University Athletic Hall of Honor. Yes, I am proud and these awards are prominently displayed in my office.

I allowed myself to be free to accept invitations to do more keynote presentations and other speaking engagements because others want to hear from me.

I’m allowing myself to be free to embrace the platform I’ve been given to positively change lives and impact futures.

Thank God for 2014 and I look forward to embracing my new word for 2015: FINISH!

http://michaelhyatt.com/crossing-daily-finish-lines.html
http://michaelhyatt.com/crossing-daily-finish-lines.html

Be Great,

Dwight

One thought on “My 2014 in Review: From FREE to FINISH

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *